Hmmmmm just recieved this anyone heard of them?

Hello,

How are you doing ? Guess you are fine

Good day, i came across your advert . Would be requiring your services in the United Kingdom. Will like to know your qualifications as regards to wedding photography before introducing you to the company proper. I have gone through your site and i find your photo works interesting.

I am sending you this e-mail on behalf of awphotography (awphotography.com). You can surf through their website to know more about the company . With regards to the new innovation that will bring about the extention of the company which is based in the United State to the United Kingdom, they will be needing photographers.
    Do get back to me if you are interested so i can link you with the company direct. I am more like an agent getting professional photographers for the company whenever they need one. This is due to my excellent performance and good records with the company. Will be waiting to read back from you.

Regards.

Mark Woobster


sender

Aw Photography [Mark_woobster@hotmail.com]
Logged


Quote
Aw Photography [Mark_woobster@hotmail.com]
That would be the biggest red flag to me.  Why would somebody "representing" a company be using a hotmail address?

Quote
This is due to my excellent
Using the wrong word just screams professional  Grin And it reads like somebody that doesn't speak English as their first language which is usually a trigger for me as well. 

I'm fairly paranoid, but it seems like a scam to me.  Although awphotography.com looks to be a legit site.
Logged


There is an actual web site  http://www.awphotography.com/ as you said .  I also found a blog with the same letter except that it had a different name   .  If you want, try checking with the Chamber of Commerce and the Better Business Bureau in the city they list in their site.

I'll be curious to learn what you find out.

mike
Logged

The smart person learns from their own mistakes.
The Wise person learns from the mistakes of others!

Sounds strange that they aren't asking for money. I agree with the above posts but would email them and ask what they need in addition to your web page to proove how good you are. I am a beliver in "trust but verify" and "never give first". [shrug]
Logged

-----------------------------------
"I get up every morning determined to both change the world and have one heck of a good time. Sometimes this makes planning my day difficult. "- EB White

Chattanooga Photographer www.BobEdens.com

If you are satisfied with your turnover and your income, why bother?
I receive these e-mails regularly. Usually they are from Russia or Nigeria. They are very friendly in the beginneing, and then ask for a small fee to cover their costs and then......

Leen
Logged


Yep look who emailed me a few weeks before and i deleted

   Good day, i came across your advert at findaweddingphotographer.co.uk . Would be requiring your services in the Uk. Will like to know your qualifications as regards to wedding photography before introducing you to the company proper. I have gone through your site and i find your photoworks interesting.
 
I am sending you this e-mail on behalf of awphotography. You can surf through their website to know more about the company . 
www.awphotography.com

      With regards to the new innovation that will bring about the extention of the company which is based in the United State to the Uk, they will be needing photographers. Do get back to me if you are interested so i can link you with the company direct. I am more like an agent getting professional photographers for the company whenever they need one. This is due to my excellent performance and good records with the company. Will be waiting to read back from you.
Regards,
Macathy.
sender leonardo macathy [leonardmacathy@yahoo.com], bonianguler@yahoo.com

Hey heres an idea we can have a spam thread for all the people that send emails to us.
Logged


MAN!!! You guys are sooo lucky!!!  No one likes my work enough to send me spam  Cry.  Actually, they probably just can't find my site, DARN THE LUCK!!!

Travis
Logged


Fingers crossed you will get just as much /SPAM very soon tried the upload last night and it looks like we can go ahead with the remaining parts of the lesson
Logged


Got a reply back from AW Photographic

A W P H O T O G R A P H Y
    PORTRAIT - COMMERCIAL - EVENT
 
Official Response to inquiries regarding Anthony McCathy, Leonardo McCathy, and Mark Woobster.

If anyone should inquire about an individual referred to as Anthony McCathy, Leonardo McCathy, or Mark Woobster, it is very important that you let them know the following:

These people are NOT employed with AW Photography

These people DO NOT represent AW Photography

and we DO NOT KNOW THEM or have any association with them.


Although we do not understand the reasons for his actions, he is obviously misrepresenting himself and we recommend the follow steps:

Halt all communications with Anthony McCathy, Leonardo McCathy, and Mark Woobster.

Share your name, phone and email with us and we will pass this information to the law enforcement and hopefully get Anthony McCathy's actions stopped.

It is also wise to contact the local authorities in your area to report the fraud.

Make a formal complaint with the email company Mr. McCathy/Woobster is using.

YAHOO: Fill out an abuse form with 'yahoo.co.uk' at this link: http://help.yahoo.com/fast/help/uk/mail/cgi_spam.

REPRESENTATIVE: We have been unable to locate a way to make a formal complaint with representative.com. It is even possible this website is owned by Anthony McCathy. If you have any information on this site, we would appreciate your sharing of knowledge.





Thank you,
Abbie Cooke
 
info@awphotography.com
www.awphotography.com
919-789-8450
3309 Six Forks Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27609
 
PS. We now have the ability to show you how your portraits will look in 300 different frames before you even place your order! Also, remember to check out our website for updates and Special Events!
Logged