My spam for today

It must be the season for scammers to come out of the woodwork.  Here's the one I got today.

Quote
Good day,
Subject: INQUIRE...
I am Miss Lizzy Smithie from Texas i am getting married to Mr Marcuz Donald on 26th of August 2007, in
243 West Second St.,
Austin, Texas 78701
and i needed a special photographer who will take a place at the event i will like to know all what it will cost you to get to my location here and the actual amount to take a covarage of 7hour from the chucrh to the reception i really need to know this so that i can contact my father in-law about this cos he his the one paying for this coverage await your response immedaitely.
Thanks & God bless
Miss Lizzy Smithie.

Let's look at a few red flags.  Subject in all caps and generic.  And she's from "Texas".  Heck, I live in Houston and hardly anyone here says they're from Houston because it's such a big area.  We're all from Katy, Sugar Land, West Oaks, or any of the other smaller areas.  Looks like Miss Lizzy is from somewhere in the 267,000 square miles of Texas.  I grew up in Austin, and the address is not a good part of town.  They did better than my last scam email in that it's actually a legit address though.  And why do scam emails always end with God bless? 

Against my better judgment I replied with just a link to the pricing information on my web page thinking maybe since they didn't mention money I might be over reacting.  Here's his (I assume Lizzy is probably a made up name).

Quote
Subject: PAYMENT INFORMATION IS NEEDED...
Thanks for the mail, we would pay $1000 for the deposite of wedding photographer ,any other payment will be made after the wedding , payment will be made for bookings  for the day , well my father in-law has issued a cheque of $4000 for the wedding photographer and wedding planner and right now he his out of location and we need to be booked for the photographer , well cheque will be made out to you and the balance will be for the wedding planner .i will like you to get back to me with this details to make out payment .
Name on cheque .
Full postal address
postal code
phone number for easy contact and other arrangement .
 Thanks
Lizzy smithie
N.B.. I would prefare the Package #2 of $1,999

Well there it is.  Good ole father in law can only write one check, and it's coming to me and I'll be responsible for forwarding on the extra money to the wedding planner.  I replied that I didn't want to take part in her scam.  Haven't heard back - go figure.

And if you're looking for a little humor (humour for you Stew  Grin) take a look at 419eater.com.  They mess with scammers and get them to send some really funny pictures - look for the Church of Bread and Wine.
Logged


Nice website, 419eater.com. Some amusing stuff.
Logged


being in a wheelchair, I purchased a hand powered cycle a few years ago. When I decided to sell it because I wasn't riding it because it was too close to the ground and dangerous where I live (people don't drive well here) I got many offers to send me a check for twice the bike's worth and instructions to forward the balance to somewhere far away. ( to circomvent some legal issue )

I called the guy I purchased the cycle from to ask him to sell it for me. I asked him about the email. He said he always says shure no problem, send the check. then he tacks the check to a wall. He said after 50 or 60 the wall starts looking good. (He has never had anyone ask about the "missing" money)

[grin]
Logged

-----------------------------------
"I get up every morning determined to both change the world and have one heck of a good time. Sometimes this makes planning my day difficult. "- EB White

Chattanooga Photographer www.BobEdens.com

OK, I have got to have a little fun with you guys; so here we go:

I recieve spam all the time from this place called PAF.com.  The messages seem innocent enough, and the forum is full of information for photographers, and they have never asked me for money or bank account numbers; but hear are the red flags as I see them-


-The first five names at the top of the members list (if sorted by # of posts):  Robert "Watcher", Ed "Farmer", Ryan "Nutt", Stewart "Plant", and Cindy "Crabb".

-Then for cover, they post links to sites like 419eaters.com, which at first glance seems as though these people are providing a public service to harass the spammers, but alas; it is only a ploy to waste your time reading hilarious stories and spending all day accomplishing nothing (although it was very funny).

-Then... they claim to be a photography forum, but no one here is ever serious.  I, for one, have never met a photographer that was anything but serious in all matters.

So I ask you, is this a legitimate site?  Or is it a brain washing forum trying to get into innocent victims' heads and keep them from being their usual boring selves?  HUH?!!  I WANT ANSWERS, AND I WANT THEM NOW!!!!

All right, so this is just a big joke as well (see, you have all drug me down with you).

 Grin

Travis
Logged